Michael Gambon and Jude Law to be honoured at the British Independent Film Awards

It has been announced that Michael Gambon (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2) and Jude Law (Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows) will be honoured at this year’s British Independent Film Awards.

Gambon will receive the Richard Harris Award for his outstanding contribution to British film. He took over Harris’ role as Professor Albus Dumbledore in the Harry Potter film series following Harris’ death in 2002. Previous recipients of this award, which was introduced 10 years ago, include Ralph Fiennes (Skyfall), John Hurt (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) and Helena Bonham Carter (Dark Shadows).

Law will be presented with the Variety Award, for helping to bring international attention to the UK. Previous recipients of this award include Kenneth Branagh (My Week With Marilyn), Helen Mirren (Red) and Michael Caine (The Dark Knight Rises). The British Independent Film Awards ceremony will be held in London on December 9th.

Gambon can next be seen in Dustin Hoffman’s Quartet alongside Maggie Smith and Billy Connolly, which is released in the UK on January 4th. Law is currently filming the comedy crime drama Dom Hemingway, and is also starring in Steven Soderbergh’s Side Effects with Channing Tatum and Rooney Mara.

Listen to the latest Flickering Myth Podcast

Watch the latest episode of Scooperhero News

Around the Web