Argo claims the top honour at the Producers Guild Awards

Following on from its Golden Globe success for Best Motion Picture – Drama, Ben Affleck’s acclaimed thriller Argo has now picked up the Darryl F. Zanuck Award at the 24th annual Producers Guild of America Awards, which were held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California last night.

The win puts Argo firmly in the driving seat for Best Picture at the Academy Awards next month, with the last five winners of the PGA’s top honour all subsequently going on to collect the Oscar. If Argo manages to make it six in a row, it will become the first film to win Best Picture without receiving a nomination for Best Director since 1989’s Driving Miss Daisy.

In the other motion picture categories, Wreck-It Ralph received the best animated feature award and Searching for Sugar Man was named best documentary, while on the television side of things the winners included Game Change (Long-Form Television), Homeland (Episodic Television, Drama) and Modern Family (Episodic Television, Comedy).

Check out the full list of nominations, with the all of the winners highlighted in red:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Django Unchained
Les Miserables
Life of Pi
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook
Zero Dark Thirty

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
Rise of the Guardians
Wreck-It Ralph

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures
A People Uncounted
The Gatekeepers
The Island President
The Other Dream Team
Searching for Sugar Man

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television
American Horror Story
The Dust Bowl
Game Change
Hafields & McCoys

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama
Breaking Bad
Downton Abbey
Game of Thrones
Mad Men

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy
30 Rock
The Big Bang Theory
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Modern Family

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television
American Masters
Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations
Deadliest Catch
Inside the Actors Studio
Shark Tank

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television
The Colbert Report
Jimmy Kimmel Live
Late Night with Jimmy Fallon
Real Time with Bill Maher
Saturday Night Live

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television
The Amazing Race
Dancing with the Stars
Project Runway
Top Chef
The Voice

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program
Catching Hell
The Fight Game with Jim Lampley
On Freddie Roach
Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program
Good Luck Charlie
Phineas and Ferb
Sesame Street
The Weight of the Nation for Kids: The Great Cafeteria Takeover

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series
30 Rock: The Webisodes (
Bravo’s Top Chef: Last Chance Kitchen (
Dexter Early Cuts: All in the Family (
The Guild (
H+ The Digital Series (

Around the Web