Ben Affleck wins the DGA Award for Argo

Ben Affleck DGA Award

After tasting Golden Globe, PGA and SAG Award success, Ben Affleck’s acclaimed CIA thriller Argo has now sealed its status as the front-runner for Best Picture at this month’s Oscars, with the Director’s Guild of America honouring Affleck with the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Films at the 65th annual DGA Awards, which took place last night at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Typically, the winner of the DGA Award goes on to collect the Oscar for Best Director, but with Affleck losing out on an Academy Award nomination to Michael Haneke (Amour), Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild), Ang Lee (Life of Pi), Steven Spielberg (Lincoln) and David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook), the two awards will differ for only the seventh time in history, and the first since 2002 when Roman Polanski won the Oscar for The Pianist after Rob Marshall had collected the DGA Award for Chicago.

In addition to Ben Affleck, other DGA Award winners included Malik Bendjelloul (Documentary Film – Searching for Sugar Man), Rian Johnson (Dramatic Series – Breaking Bad), Lena Dunham (Comedy Series – Girls) and Jay Roach (Movies for Television and Mini-Series – Game Change); check out the full list of nominees, with the winners highlighted in red…

Feature Film:
Ben Affleck, Argo
Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty
Tom Hooper, Les Miserables
Ang Lee, Life of Pi
Steven Spielberg, Lincoln

Malik Bendjelloul, Searching For Sugar Man
Kirby Dick, The Invisible War
David France, How to Survive a Plague
Lauren Greenfield, The Queen of Versailles
Alison Klayman, Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry

Dramatic Series:
Michael Cuesta, Showtime’s Homeland, “The Choice”
Jennifer Getzinger, AMC’s Mad Men, “A Little Kiss”
Lesli Linka Glatter, Showtime’s Homeland, “Q&A”
Rian Johnson, AMC’s Breaking Bad, “Fifty-One”
Greg Mottola, HBO’s The Newsroom, “We Just Decided To”

Comedy Series:
Louis C.K., FX’s Louie, “New Year’s Eve”
Mark Cendrowski, CBS’s The Big Bang Theory, “The Date Night Variable”
Bryan Cranston, ABC’s Modern Family, “Election Day”
Lena Dunham, HBO’s Girls, “Pilot”
Beth McCarthy-Miller, NBC’s 30 Rock, “Live from Studio 8H”

Movies for Television and Mini-Series:
Greg Berlanti, USA’s Political Animals, “Pilot”
Philip Kaufman, HBO’s Hemingway & Gellhorn
Kevin Reynolds, History’s Hatfields & McCoys
Jay Roach, HBO’s Game Change
Michael Rymer, FX’s American Horror Story: Asylum, “Dark Cousin”

Musical Variety:
Michael Dempsey, 12-12-12: The Concert for Sandy Relief
Don Roy King, NBC’s Saturday Night Live with host Mick Jagger
Don Mischer, ABC’s 84th Annual Academy Awards
Chuck O’Neil, Comedy Central’s The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, “Episode #17153″
Glenn Weiss, CBS’ 66th Annual Tony Awards

Reality Programs:
Tony Croll, The CW’s America’s Next Top Model, “The Girl Who Becomes America’s Next Top Model”
Peter Ney, Syfy’s Face Off, “Scene of the Crime”
Brian Smith, Fox’s Master Chef, “Episode #305″
J. Rupert Thompson, NBC’s Stars Earn Stripes, “Amphibious Assault”
Tim Warren, SpikeTV’s Ink Master, “Episode 103″

Daytime Serials:
Albert Alarr, NBC’s Days of Our Lives, “Episode #11895″
Larry Carpenter, ABC’s General Hospital, “Bad Water”
William Ludel, ABC’s General Hospital, “Magic Milo”
Scott McKinsey, ABC’s General Hospital, “Shot Through the Heart”
Jill Mitwell, ABC’s One Life to Live, “Between Heaven and Hell”

Children’s Programs:
Stuart Gillard, Disney Channel’s Girl vs. Monster
Paul Hoen, Disney Channel’s Let it Shine
Savage Steve Holland, Nickelodeon’s Big Time Movie
Jonathan Judge, Nickelodeon’s Camp Fred
Amy Schatz, HBO’s Don’t Divorce Me! Kids’ Rules for Parents on Divorce

Lance Acord (Jogger, Nike; The Dog Strikes Back, Volkswagen 2012; Thread, Levi’s; Greatness, Nike)
Steve Ayson (Beer Chase, Carlton Draught; Let Me Go, The Cosmopolitan of Los Vegas)
Fredrik Bond (Surfer, Puma; Eternal Optimism, Budweiser)
Alejandro G. Inarritu (Best Job, Proctor and Gamble)
Tom Kuntz (Terry Crews Muscle Minds, Old Spice; Stray Animals, DirecTV; Roadside Ditch, DirecTV; Platoon, DirecTV)

Listen to the latest Flickering Myth Podcast

Watch the latest episode of Scooperhero News

Around the Web