The Hunger Games: Catching Fire character posters

This week has seen characters posters for the second installment in The Hunger Games franchise, Catching Fire, released online. Thus far we have seen; Caeser, Cinna, Effie and Haymitch and today via MSN we have our look at Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen.

The character posters are designed as portraits by the Capitol of Panem, for the upcoming ‘Victor’s Tour’ that Catching Fire will feature, as Katniss embarks on a tour of the 13 Districts having been victorious at the 74th Annual Hunger Games. The posters themselves illustrate the vanity of the Capitol as each character is dressed rather extravagantly.

The Hunger Games was a surprise personal hit for me last year and it was great to see a female character portrayed the way that Katniss was: as a strong and independent female making her own decisions whilst also dealign with our obsession for reality TV and celebrity, and so I look forward to the continuation of the story.

The official synopsis is as follows:

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire begins as Katniss Everdeen has returned home safe after winning the 74th Annual Hunger Games along with fellow tribute Peeta Mellark. Winning means that they must turn around and leave their family and close friends, embarking on a “Victor’s Tour” of the districts. Along the way Katniss senses that a rebellion is simmering, but the Capitol is still very much in control as President Snow prepares the 75th Annual Hunger Games (The Quarter Quell) – a competition that could change Panem forever.”

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire is released in the U.K. on November 22nd and stars Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook), Elizabeth Banks (30 Rock), Josh Hutcherson (Red Dawn), Liam Hemsworth (The Expendables 2), Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master), Stanley Tucci (Captain America: The First Avenger), Woody Harrelson (Seven Psychopaths), Donald Sutherland (Dirty Sexy Money), Sam Claflin (Snow White and the Huntsman), Jenna Malone (Sucker Punch), Lenny Kravitz (Precious) and Toby Jones (Berberian Sound Studio).