Nominations for the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards announced

Nominations for the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards announced

The nominations for the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards have been announced today, with Steve McQueen’s acclaimed drama 12 Years a Slave leading the field with 7 nods, including Best Feature, Best Director, Best Male Lead (Chiwetel Ejiofor), Best Supporting Female (Lupita Nyong’o) and Best Supporting Male (Michael Fassbender).

12 Years a Slave will content the Best Feature award against All Is Lost, Frances Ha, Inside Llewyn Davis and Nebraska, while McQueen is joined in the directing field by J.C. Chandor (All Is Lost), Alexander Payne (Nebraska), Shane Carruth (Upstream Color) and Jeff Nichols (Mud). Mud is also set to receive the pretigious Robert Altman Award, while is presented to the director, the casting director and the ensemble cast.

Check out the full list of nominations here…

Best Feature
’12 Years a Slave’
‘All Is Lost’
‘Frances Ha’
‘Inside Llewyn Davis’

Best Director
Shane Carruth – ‘Upstream Color’
J.C. Chandor – ‘All Is Lost’
Steve McQueen – ’12 Years a Slave’
Jeff Nichols – ‘Mud’
Alexander Payne – ‘Nebraska’

Best Screenplay
Woody Allen – ‘Blue Jasmine’
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater – ‘Before Midnight’
Nicole Holofcener – ‘Enough Said’
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber – ‘The Spectacular Now’
John Ridley – ’12 Years a Slave’

Best First Feature
‘Blue Caprice’ – Alexandre Moors – director/producer; Kim Jackson, Brian O’Carroll, Isen Robbins, Will Rowbotham, Ron Simons, Aimee Schoof, Stephen Tedeschi – producer
‘Concussion’ – Stacie Passon – director; Rose Troche – producer
‘Fruitvale Station’ – Ryan Coogler – director; Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker – producers
‘Una Noche’ – Lucy Mulloy – director – producer; Sandy Pérez Aguila, Maite Artieda, Daniel Mulloy, Yunior Santiago – producers
‘Wadjda’ – Haifaa Al Mansour – director; Gerhard Meixner, Roman Paul – producer

Best First Screenplay
Lake Bell – ‘In a World’
Joseph Gordon-Levitt – ‘Don Jon’
Bob Nelson – ‘Nebraska’
Jill Soloway – ‘Afternoon Delight’
Michael Starrbury – ‘The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete’

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)
‘Computer Chess’ – Andrew Bujalski, writer/director
‘Crystal Fairy’ – Sebastiàn Silva, writer/director
‘Museum Hours’ – Jem Cohen, writer/director
‘Pit Stop’ – Yen Tan, writer/director; David Lowery, writer
‘This is Martin Bonner’ – Chad Hartigan, writer/director

Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett – ‘Blue Jasmine’
Julie Delpy – ‘Before Midnight’
Gaby Hoffmann – ‘Crystal Fairy’
Brie Larson – ‘Short Term 12’
Shailene Woodley – ‘The Spectacular Now’

Best Male Lead
Bruce Dern – ‘Nebraska’
Chiwetel Ejiofor – ’12 Years a Slave’
Oscar Isaac – ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’
Michael B. Jordan – ‘Fruitvale Station’
Matthew McConaughey – ‘Dallas Buyers Club’
Robert Redford – ‘All Is Lost’

Best Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz – ‘Fruitvale Station’
Sally Hawkins – ‘Blue Jasmine’
Lupita Nyong’o – ’12 Years a Slave’
Yolonda Ross – ‘Go For Sisters’
June Squibb – ‘Nebraska’

Best Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender – ’12 Years a Slave’
Will Forte – ‘Nebraska’
James Gandolfini – ‘Enough Said’
Jared Leto – ‘Dallas Buyers Club’
Keith Stanfield – ‘Short Term 12’

Best Cinematography
Sean Bobbitt – ’12 Years a Slave’
Benoit Debie – ‘Spring Breakers’
Bruno Delbonnel – ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’
Frank G. DeMarco – ‘All Is Lost’
Matthias Grunsky – ‘Computer Chess’

Best Editing
Shane Carruth & David Lowery – ‘Upstream Color’
Jem Cohen & Marc Vives – ‘Museum Hours’
Jennifer Lame – ‘Frances Ha’
Cindy Lee – ‘Una Noche’
Nat Sanders – ‘Short Term 12’

Best Documentary
’20 Feet From Stardom – Morgan Neville, director/producer; Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers, producers
‘After Tiller’ – Martha Shane & Lana Wilson, directors/producers
‘Gideon’s Army’ – Dawn Porter, director/producer; Julie Goldman, producer
‘The Act of Killing’ – Joshua Oppenheimer, director/producer; Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo, producer
‘The Square’ – Jehane Noujaim, director, Karim Amer, producer

Best International Film
‘A Touch of Sin’ (China) – Jia Zhang-Ke, director
‘Blue Is the Warmest Color’ (France) – Abdellatif Kechiche, director
‘Gloria (Chile) – Sebastián Lelio, director
‘The Great Beauty’ (Italy) – Paolo Sorrentino, director
‘The Hunt’ (Denmark) – Thomas Vinterberg, director

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film’s director, casting director and its ensemble cast)
Director: Jeff Nichols
Casting Director: Francine Maisler
Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon

17th Piaget Producers Award
Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston
Jacob Jaffke
Andrea Roa
Frederick Thornton

20th Someone to Watch Award
‘My Sister’s Quinceañera’ – Aaron Douglas Johnston, director
‘Newlyweeds’ – Shaka King, director
‘The Foxy Merkins’ – Madeline Olnek, director

19th Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
Kalyanee Mam – ‘A River Changes Course’
Jason Osder – ‘Let the Fire Burn’
Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez – Manakamana’

The 2014 Spirit Awards will be presented on March 1st, 2014.

Around the Web